The Great Sort

Anyone who’s moved at least once in their lifetime knows how much crap you can accumulate over the years. Our sentimentality makes us cling to objects as though they are our lifeline despite them having been buried away in a basement, closet or shed for ages. Why can’t we ever just throw or give anything away? I’ve moved around for most of my adult life so I’ve grown accustomed to the whole moving process. This latest venture to Nunavut is one that’s going to pose probably the biggest packing challenge ever. How does one consolidate a decade worth of clutter into one move with limited space?

Phase 1 – The Great Sort – Thankfully we don’t live in an incredibly large place right now. If we did I’d dread having to sort through all the madness we could have amassed. My plan of attack is to use the basement as the Grand Sorting Station. Since the cats don’t hang out down there anymore I can use the space to start my three sections – The Taking Now Section, the Public Storage Section and the It’s Gotta Go Section. Course I can guarantee that as soon as I start moving forward with any of that the Terrible Twosome will want to inspect every little thing that’s going on. I think we’ll be leaving quite a few things for the apartment. We’ve got a nice array of lawn care supplies as well as bathroom and kitchen equipment that would come in handy.  Our landlord rocks so I’m sure we can work out some kind of deal. We’ll be leaving the place in far better shape than when we came here, that’s for sure.

I haven’t quite decided on when I’m going to take a stab at the first motions of sorting, but I imagine it to be sometime in the afternoon. I have to get a foothold in before Hurricane Suzanne comes rolling through. I’m not saying she’s a messy sorter or anything but she has what I deemed as Dyslexic Cleaning Tendencies or DCT. People who suffer from this condition don’t clean in a logical order, for example room by room or section by section, but more rather will be in all places at any given time. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure there’s sense to the madness but her madness and my madness don’t match up well when it comes to that facet of our relationship so I just end up standing back and watching as the hurricane blows through then i resume my work.

…but then again I do have the latest episode of Ultimate Fighter PVR’d so I could very well become easily distracted….

Gotta loooove procrastination. 😉

5 thoughts on “The Great Sort

  1. I feel your pain, Ian…Jim and I combined two households when we moved to our current home…we filled a 26-foot U-Haul truck (twice) with just our boxes of crap! The furniture went separately with a moving company we hired. Two years later, we still have boxes which have never been unpacked…it’s a good thing we live in a big house!

    Wendy

    • That’s what’s killing me right now. We have unopened boxes from when we moved here over 3 years ago! My theory is, “if I didn’t need it in those 3 years I won’t need it up there”. 😉

  2. You need to understand…I just don’t work the way normal people do. I have ACDD…that would be adult cleaning deficit disorder. It’s commonly confused with DCT, and I have never been officially diagnosed with DCT.

    Either way, you also have some Fallout New Vegas to investigate…I expect it to be installed on the PS3 when I get home mister!

  3. Having lived in several Northern communities since 2008, the best moving advice I know of is… They may pay for you to bring it in, but the chances of them paying for it to come out are slim… take only what you need to live and cannot replace… the rest you can do without…

    For lots of information about the North.. and connections to other Northerners follow my Twitter at http://twitter.com/Northern_Clips

Comments are closed.