Days Go By

Our new (temporary) digs

Ian has been saying to me that it won’t feel real up here until we have a place to live.  Until then, things feel like a vacation.  And although it’s been pretty much a working vacation for us, I feel the same way.  However we’ve certainly been feeling more at home here – especially since we moved from our very crowded studio suite to our much larger and very comfortable one bedroom suite here at the Capital Suites.  I highly recommend this place if you’re planning on visiting Iqaluit for any length of time.  True, hotel accommodations are not inexpensive, but this is probably one of the less costly locations.  If you’re here for an extended amount of time, a full kitchen certainly helps keep food costs down as well.  As Ian and I well know, eating dinner out at least once a day is not only pricey, but frustrating.  Though I have to say that I’m sure the restauranteurs appreciate the business.

Needless to say, a bigger place means that Ian and I don’t have to trip over each other.  Wait, let me correct myself.  It means that Jemaine doesn’t have to trip everyone up when we’re walking around.  Of course, it doesn’t mean anything, because he still sits right under Ian almost all the time when I’m at work, and follows both of us around when he’s not cowering in fear of our parkas under the couch.  I don’t ask to have strange cats…it just happened.

Merry Christmas in four languages at the Legislative Assembly

Our Christmas tree (at least until we have our own place)

Over the past couple of weeks, things have definitely been transforming into the traditional winter wonderland for Christmas.  There is a Christmas decorating contest in town, and if I recall correctly, the winner could possibly win a return ticket to Ottawa.  That’s a huge deal with a return ticket can cost you $1500.  It’s kind of funny how most draws and raffles also lure ticket buyers with this same technique – the return airfare to Ottawa seems to be a welcome prize for most Iqalummiut.  It’s also been nice to see that the Capital Suites has decided to decorate, since we will not be able to do that until we have our own apartment – and our stuff from down south!

This past Saturday was a nice change for us too – we got to check out a craft fair at Inuksuk High School.  Well, we would have been able to check it out if I didn’t think it was running 10 AM to 2 PM instead of 10 AM to 12 PM.  We made it there right around noon, and luckily some vendors were still hanging around.  We missed most of the arts and crafts unfortunately, but there were some food vendors still around.  We got some good advice from one of the vendors – whenever you have the chance to buy homemade goods in Iqaluit, take it!  It’s not that often that you can find baked goods for such reasonable prices…and they’re oh so good!  Ian and I made off like bandits with two bricks of mozzarella cheese – one stuffed with dill, the other with horseradish, snowballs (coconut-covered cocoa goodies), and a huge cherry pie.  Surprisingly, the cherry pie has lasted until today – that’s five days if you’re counting – and if you know me at all, you know that’s pretty darn good.  Cherries are my weakness.  So I’m about to go put that pie out of its misery right about now.

Nom! Nom! Nom!

8 thoughts on “Days Go By

  1. Your situation right now is almost like mines when I first move here. Hubby and I live in a hotel for one month living out our suitcase switching from rooms to rooms to keep the cheaper price. It felt also like vacation for me at first. I got tired living out a suitcase and wanted a home to call home. Next best thing John did was to find a temporary home. He found one that was furnish as yours. We live comfortable in it for one month and found our Flat in which is home.

    So I know how you feel and coming from. I love your Christmas tree. It is so beautiful. Heck your temporary dig is too! Enjoy your holiday. When time come and I am not online to say so, “I wish you also a merry Christmas and a happy New Year!”

    • Thank you! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you as well…we may not have internet for a few days unfortunately. The Christmas tree is not ours…it’s in the lobby of the hotel…but it’s as close to ours as we can get for now. 😉

  2. Nice suite!

    Cherry pie is one of my favourites too (of course, I never met a fruit pie I didn’t like!).

    Hope you guys find a permanent place soon!

    Wendy

  3. It’s got to be so hard starting over and away from everyone, especially this time of year. The Christmas card I sent you guys was returned. I addressed it improperly apparently, because of all the post office commotion. I am sending it back out this evening.

  4. I know what you mean about tripping over a cat. As I write this, mine is being a spaz, chasing after my ankles, and trying to use the computer. Perhaps it has to do with the non-food item I saw him swallow just as I put my stuff down after work. I am hoping it was a piece of tape or paper and not another twist tie or piece of wire.

    I will second the comment about baked goods. There’s only so much of that processed stuff from the supermarket that I can tolerate. Better yet, learn to make your own and share with your friends and co-workers.

    • What is it with cats and tape? Jemaine is addicted to eating tape! I don’t understand it!

      We actually love to make our own baked goods…it’s just that we need our baking items (both ingredients and bakeware) in order to do so. I can’t wait to make some Christmas cookies!

Comments are closed.